Family in our Ecosystem

Observation & Reflection

Rev. Joshua Klaus | Ecology and The Sacred | January 22, 2017

backyard-tree

Observation of myself in the ecosystem I live in

For purposes of this paper I will share my observations of myself in my home environment, both inside and outdoors.  I will share what it is like in my home and in my immediate area surrounding my home.  I live in a city, there is not a lot of wooded areas around, but I’m fortunate to have some in my back yard. I live with my husband and my nine-year-old son. We have no pets at this present time but we love having plants in the house.  Depending on the time of day or what’s happening in each of our lives affects our mood and in turn affects relationships. This paper I will share my observations of relationships in my environment.

I live in a City of approx. 45,000 people. It is well developed with big chain stores, restaurants, retail stores, banks and many Condominium complexes.  My husband, son and I live on one of the busiest streets that goes straight through the city.  We have a two-bedroom apartment on the second floor, the only other tenant in our building occupies the first floor. They are a family of four and very much keep to themselves.  We have a large back yard of which has a stream that cuts right through our property.  Beyond the stream is a wooded area that’s just beautiful to look at any time of the year and walk through if I desire.  We have the typical stray cat that comes wondering through every now and again.  I’ve also seen many different birds, just recently an Owl.  Squirrels, chipmunks, mice, skunks and sometimes a bunny goes hopping by.  About two years ago, a black bear, medium size came strolling through my back yard. Next to my home I have neighbors on both sides. To our right, the fence separates our two properties and every now and again during the warmer months they will be sitting out back (where we park our cars and where the fence is) and we greet each other with a simple “Hello”, followed by small talk. To our left the neighbors and we share both of our driveways because they connect into the parking area behind our homes. Directly next to where I park is a beautiful full oak tree, and in the summer, it’s great coverage to keep my car cool.

Inside our home, it’s very relaxing I must say. Many of our friends that come visit have stated out loud and sometimes we laugh about it because when in the living room, some, (including my husband) have been known to fall asleep to easily. My son loves his bedroom. It is big. He has his play area, T.V. and video game area, his queen bed and his own office space for homework and computer time. We are fortunate to have a cozy small laundry room off the kitchen along with our bathroom.  We have a large enough kitchen and it’s where I decided to put my home office, in the corner part of the kitchen near two big windows. Our bedroom is our sanctuary. It has colored lighting shooting up from the bottom on all four walls. Blue, green and purple are the color lights we chose. We have a queen bed with a variety of colored comforters but our purple one is my favorite. On his side of the bedroom sits his home office (for when he works from home too) along with his waterfall that he likes to put on at night. In the front part of the bedroom sits a flat screen T.V. that I like to use for my guided meditations. Like I said, this is our sanctuary. On my side of the bedroom sits my altar. I adore my altar, as does my husband and sometimes he will sit with me during certain prayerful rituals or meditations etc.

I hinted in the last paragraph how relaxing it was in my home. It was created intentionally this way. We use the healing energy of lights to bring a warm comfortable environment. Besides the three of us who enjoy lighting in each of our rooms (my son has green and blue lights shooting from the bottom up onto his walls) we have warm white lighting beaming up onto our living room walls and barely ever need a glaring overhead light. For extra lighting, we have tiny lamps hidden behind furniture to lessen the glare but still very effectively light the room. We have received so many compliments from family and friends who come to our home. They always say how relaxing, clean and refreshing it smells. My husband and I have beautiful scent warmers and love picking seasonal favorites. (My son has one in his room too and loves picking his scents, he usually shoots for a fruity scent) Many of our friends have been so moved with our creativity, they have started doing the same idea ultimately bringing them an enriched comforting, relaxing environment. Our kitchen is our heart of our home. I do most of– if not all the cooking because I’m great at it and in many ways, it’s how I show my love for my family and friends. We like hosting dinner gatherings often, at least twice a month.

Like I said earlier we don’t have pets, but our plants in my belief helps keep the air clean and they add so much life to our kitchen, and living room. My husband has the “Green Thumb”. We have a huge wrap around deck out our front door. It’s the place where we spend a lot of our time when the weather is nice. For gatherings, we will sit on our deck, or go into our large back yard and have BBQ as kids play at the stream or enjoy the tree swing.

I work and study from home. My husband mainly works at his office and works from home if the weather is not good. My sons school is a mile away, not far at all. So, for me I spend a lot of my time in this environment. It’s important for me to love and enjoy my space but also discipline myself to work from home too. I get up every morning and start my routine for the day. When the weather is nice, I’ll go on the deck or on my bench swing out back and do some reading or meditations. As an Empath, it is how I nurture myself after absorbing everyone else’s energy all the time. Sometimes it can be completely draining. I simply love our little home, but it’s not too last much longer. We will be transitioning in 2017 into a bigger home and we are considering a different smaller community approximately 20 minutes from where we are now. We have chosen to start looking for a new home because we are out growing this environment. Our relationships have been great with neighbors, our landlord, mother nature and our feelings in and out of our home.  We are nervous that we won’t find what we are looking for, but you never know if you don’t look. As for now, I continue to enjoy our home.

 

My Reflection

Prior to this course I have often reflected on my environment and incorporated my home inside; outside in a variety of spiritually connected fashions. I was raised Roman Catholic but left the church a few years ago, when I was awakened very shortly after my mother’s crossover. I went through a transformation or “Calling” of sorts. I’ve always felt a Divine connection with people and our biosphere.  I am an Ordained Spiritualist Minister. I practice Esoteric Christianity for the most part, however my bottom line belief is we are all Universally connected to Divine and Spirit. I know this from personal experience. In many ways, I honor God and Spirit in my environment. I feel it is to say “Thank You” to God or Universe for helping me see the signs I’ve needed to see.

My mom raised me Catholic. However, she was more spiritual I saw than a “Practicing Catholic”.  I’ve seen over the years prior to my mother’s crossing over how she nurtured herself in her environment. It was not until after she passed where I received my calling and spiritual awakening. I feel in many ways I was given answers from Divine and Spirit to help spread the word about what messages I receive. I protect my environment and myself with a variety of items and rituals to block lower vibrational beings from attacking me or my home. For example, if you were in my home you would not see how every door and window of mine has clear quartz above the entrance way. It is my belief and experience it prevents evil vibrations from entering my home. I also have most of my rooms and furniture set up in a way to respect Divine along with earth. I like it to “flow” easily and smoothly; not cluttered. I notice with the many changes I’ve done to my home because I’ve received communication to do it this way, my energy level is usually very protected therefore I have an abundant amount of positive energy where I’m able to give others I know or even the common stranger I may cross paths with. My ministry is personal, independent from any one church and is full of love, kindness and respect for humans, animals and nature.

Author: revjoshuaklaus

Current Seminarian of Inter Religious Studies Masters of Divinity; Certificates in Divination and Pastoral Care. Pastor at St. Adele's Universal Life Church and Divine Ministry.